General Language Thread

Discussion in 'Linguistics' started by Valvar, 28 October 2014.

1. Which languages do you speak? Which languages would you like to learn and why? What do you think are the best methods? Which languages do you think are the best linguistically and/or aesthetically? Which languages would you want your children to know?

Let's get a general discussion about languages going!

• Like Like x 4
  2. The Fool

The Fool Second Lieutenant Sustaining Member
    1. Lumine Boreali Gentlemen's Club
    2. Neoplatonism

I can speak German and Irish very poorly. My German is a lot better than my Irish, though; I studied both in school and could elaborate on the reason for the difference if anyone's interestsd.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Plantagenet

Plantagenet Heroic Member

I only speak English with any proficiency. I am currently learning Mandarin for a variety of reasons though interests in Daoism, Chan Buddhism, the guqin, qigong/taijiquan, and other spiritual topics of a Chinese provenance are the primary guiding motivations, though I'd also like to be able to read some of the great classical novels and Chinese poetry (like that of Hanshan/Cold Mountain) in Chinese.

So far I've been using Pimsleur's and I think it is a great method. I would recommend it for anyone learning any language. Besides that I use Pleco flashcards to help me learn the characters and ingest various forms of Mandarin media, mostly historical dramas, in order to facilitate learning. My progress is coming along decently for only having been learning for 5-6 months as I am starting to pick up a decent amount and am able to understand many of the more basic sentences and phrases.