1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The ethereal painter-an original short story

Discussion in 'Verbal Art' started by JonhOliver, 3 September 2018.

1. JonhOliver

JonhOliver Member

This is my first attempt at writing, so i would really appreciate it if some of you read it and offered me some criticisms. Be harsh, as i want to be able to improve and know what i'm doing wrong.
    The ending of the story might be a bit silly, but i think that overall it's interesting. My main influences and favorite writers, have been people like Edgar Ellan Poe, H.P Lovecraft and Arthur Machen, so you can see i really like the Gothic fantasy/horror style.

English version:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1bI9sLIHcNqx1fO4sGRPcE079ee0s0Zdq/view?ths=true

Portuguese version:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1iDHL5hV-MsiWPUU0NY4O8I2OAr5Vk5Tl/view?ths=true

• Like Like x 1
  2. Arboreality

Arboreality Member

Most of my criticisms are relatively small, some typos here and there, some awkward words used in some places that interrupt the flow or don't make sense. You can fix those fairly easily, but overall I liked the story. It strikes me as somewhat of a rough draft at this point, but it's very good for a first attempt. There's something great here waiting to be revealed, but it always takes rewrite after rewrite to really bring it out. Patience and discipline are key here.

My biggest criticisms aside from what I've said so far is that the characters seem a bit bland, they feel a bit more like puppets than characters. That's to be expected since this is a short story, and perhaps you prefer it that way because it makes them more vehicles for the message you're trying to send. I'm especially interested in seeing who Johan could become. There's many ways you could make his mannerisms and dialogue more distinct and reflect his alienation with the Modern World.